~| Tears In Rain |~

Tears_in_Rain_Thumb

 

Author Notes –

“This is the most heartfelt piece I have ever written till now. A lot of emotions went into writing this. Initially free verse, I eventually rhymed it to lend more soul to it. Personally, this is the first time I have rhymed a single syllable sound (‘ane’) with as many words I could while keeping the thought intact. It sure was a challenge for me. The flow is contemporary without a set rhythm meter. There’s a lyrical touch to it, which again is a first for me. This being the first cut may need editing. Comments are welcome for improvement of any kind. Feel free to throw them in.

The thought behind the piece is as real as its abstraction. Oxymoronish, it may sound, but it reflects my current mood and the weather today. Cloudy, gloomy, dreamy, weary, and pouring out a sense of longing. Longing could be that of the rain that never came, or of that lovely damsel :-). Lastly, I feel that it takes a spiritual bonding, like between a river and the sea, to see someone’s tears in the rain.

Hope you enjoy this as much as I did writing it.”

 


 

Curling, flagging golden strings
Swimming in whiffing breath of wind
Dancing in red fields of flame
I think it’s going to rain.

The grayish sun in an urn of ashes
Imbued in the shadow of her lashes
Playing the same old game
I think it’s going to rain.

Flawless, blemishless and radiant within
Intoxicating petrichor of sweat on her skin
A friend down the lonely lane
I think it’s going to rain.

Street urchins dashing about
Looking for a haven around
Black robe with a white stain
I think it’s going to rain

Sound of bullets, bombs, and thunder
Fill the skies as I begin to wonder
Among cries of a soldier slain
I think it’s going to rain

Stoic moments bearing stillness of death
Lost in beats of a heart bereft
When there’s no one left to blame
I think it’s going to rain

The clouds part
Revealing a heavenly glow
Thawing an eternity of snow
Birthing a river of glistening grace
Gushing down the mountain’s face

She’s
Careless,
Fearless,
Relentless,
Pretenseless…

In ticks of time
She finally kisses the sea
Handing over her destiny
Twirling around in ecstasy
Turning into what she wanted to be.

Questioning the moment, she asks the sea-

“In your timeless wait
At the shores of fate
Did you ever lose hope in vain
For your eyes still look the same
Did the desire of long ever wane?”

She watches
As his tacit eyes exclaim-
My darling dame
I never refrained
But sadly,

Tears of futility
Never shine in the rain…

 

 

4 thoughts on “~| Tears In Rain |~

Leave a comment